The stock market refers to the collection of markets and exchanges where the issuing and trading of equities (stocks of publicly held companies), bonds and other sorts of securities takes place, either through formal exchanges or over-the-counter markets. Also known as the equity market, the stock market is one of the most vital components of a free-market economy, as it provides companies with access to capital in exchange for giving investors a slice of ownership.

Who Works on the Stock Market?

There are many different players associated with the stock market, including stockbrokers, traders, stock analysts, portfolio managers and investment bankers. Each has a unique role, but many of the roles are intertwined and depend on each other to make the market run effectively.

Stockbrokers, also known as registered representatives in the U.S., are the licensed professionals who buy and sell securities on behalf of investors. The brokers act as intermediaries between the stock exchanges and the investors by buying and selling stocks on the investors’ behalf.


Stock analysts perform research and rate the securities as buy, sell or hold. This research gets disseminated to clients and interested parties to decide whether to buy or sell the stock. Portfolio managers are professionals who invest portfolios, collections of securities, for clients. These managers get recommendations from analysts and make buy/sell decisions for the portfolio. Mutual fund companies, hedge funds, and pension plans use portfolio managers to make decisions and set the investment strategies for the money they hold.

سوق الأوراق المالية يشير إلى جميع الأسواق والمقايضات حيث تُصدر وتُتداول الأسهم (أسهم الشركات العامة) ، والسندات، سواء من خلال التبادلات الرسمية أو الأسواق عبر الخاصة البنوك. كما أن سوق الأوراق المالية ، المعروف أيضًا باسم سوق الأسهم ، يعد واحدًا من أهم المكونات الحيوية لاقتصاد الأسواق الحرة ، حيث أنه يوفر للشركات الحصول على رؤوس أموال مقابل منح المستثمرين جزء من الملكية.

من يتداول في سوق الأسهم؟

هناك العديد من اللاعبين المختلفين المرتبطين بسوق الأوراق المالية ، بما في ذلك سماسرة البورصة والتجار ومحللي الأسهم ومديري المحافظ الاستثمارية. لكل منها دور فريد ، ولكن العديد من الأدوار متشابكة وتعتمد على بعضها البعض لجعل السوق يعمل بشكل فعال.

سماسرة البورصة هم المحترفون المرخصون الذين يشترون ويبيعون الأوراق المالية نيابة عن المستثمرين. يعمل الوسطاء كوسيط بين البورصات والمستثمرين من خلال شراء وبيع الأسهم نيابة عن المستثمرين.


يقوم محللو الأسهم بإجراء الأبحاث وتقييم الأوراق المالية لاصدار توصيات شراء أو بيع أو التمنع. يتم نشر هذا البحث على العملاء والأطراف المعنية لتحديد ما إذا كان سيتم شراء أو بيع الأسهم. مديري المحافظ هم من المهنيين الذين يستثمرون المحافظ ، ومجموعات الأوراق المالية ، للعملاء. يحصل هؤلاء المديرين على توصيات من المحللين ويقومون باتخاذ قرارات الشراء / البيع للمحفظة. تستخدم شركات صناديق الاستثمار المشتركة وصناديق التحوط وخطط التقاعد مديري المحافظ المالية لاتخاذ القرارات ووضع استراتيجيات الاستثمار للأموال التي يمتلكونها.